The ICOTY (Indian Car Of The Year) 2017: Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza

Team OD  /
21 Dec 2016 16:27:43 IST

The Indian Car of the Year(ICOTY) 2017 was announced at a glittering and glamorous ceremony in Mumbai onDecember 20, 2016. On behalf of the esteemed Jury of ICOTY 2017, Dr. RaghupatiSinghania, Chairman & Managing Director, JK Tyre & IndustriesLimited very kindly handed over the Indian Car of the Year trophy to the teamof Maruti Suzuki. The Chairman of the ICOTY Jury Bob Rupani, presented to thewinners, a certificate signed by all 'Jury Members' of ICOTY 2017.

final ICOTY Jury round image (1)

To celebrate this extremelyimportant occasion, well known rock artiste Gary Lawyer gave a splendidperformance of 'Motoring Music' specially curated for the ICOTY award ceremonynight.This was the 12thedition of the ICOTY, which has emerged as the most credible and coveted auto awardand is now considered the 'Oscar' of Indian automotive awards. This award is anexpert and independent judgment of the best new car and the award has beengetting increasingly prominent with each passing year. JK Tyre has been sponsoringthe award ceremony of the ICOTY ever since its inception.

Some19 new cars launched in 2016 qualified for these awards and 13 made it to thefinal jury round held on 7th December, 2016 in Lonavala at Khushru Patel'sbeautiful stud farm and bungalow. The top six contenders were the FordEndeavour; Hyundai Tuscon; Hyundai Elantra; Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza; ToyotaInnova Crysta and Skoda Suberb.

In atough contest the Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza emerged the winner. The runner upwas the Hyundai Tuscon with the Toyota Innova Crysta clinching third spot. Interestingly, the Brezza was almost entirelydesigned and developed in India by the Chief Engineer for the Vitara BrezzaProject C.V. Raman and his team.

The Jury of ICOTY 2017included Yogendra Pratap (Auto Today), Rahul Ghosh (Auto Today), Dhruv Behl(Auto X), Ishan Raghava (Auto X), AspiBhathena (Car India), Jim Gorde (CarIndia), Sirish Chandran (Evo India), Aninda Sardar (Evo India), Kartik Ware (MotoringWorld), Bertrand D'souza (Overdrive), Bob Rupani (Overdrive), Girish Karkera (Top Gear), Sriram Narayanan (TopGear) , Muralidhar Swaminathan (The Hindu Business Line) and Pablo Chaterji(Mans World).

final ICOTY Jury round image (2)

In all nine very prestigious publications were represented on theICOTY 2017 Jury.This specialist juryconsisting of fifteen senior Indian automotive journalists is the best from theindustry and together they have about 250 years of car evaluation experience.The jury is known for their analytical skills and competence in evaluating andtesting cars, as a part of their profession. The highly experienced jurymembers are responsible for selecting a single decisive winner and the votingprocess has been designed to be very fair and unbiased and tamper proof. Thanksto all this, the ICOTY trophy is the one every manufacture wants to win. The ICOTYaward is in line with international standards and modeled on the American Carof the Year, European Car of the Year and Japanese Car of the Year.

The eligible cars are judgedon various parameters such as price, fuel efficiency, styling, comfort, safety,features, performance, practicality, technical innovation, value for money and aboveall suitability for Indian consumers and driving conditions.

Congratulating the winners,Dr. Raghupati Singhania, Chairman & Managing Director, JK Tyre & Industries Limited, said,It's been over a decade since the first ICOTY Awards were instituted to honour achievements and excellence in the Indian automobile industry. Today, these Awards have set benchmarks for Indian automakers, egging them on to put in their best foot forward and deliver vehicles, which capture the nation's imagination in all ways possible. JK Tyre has been associated with ICOTY and IMOTY since the time of their inception, and it is with great pride that we can say that today these awards have inspired automakers to innovate every year in terms of engineering, design, cost-effectiveness, adaptability to local conditions, not to forget consumer satisfaction, to stand out in the competition.

I congratulate Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza and TVS Apache RTR 200 4V for the innovation and creativity in their vehicles and for being successful in satiating the needs of their consumers. This is a deserving recognition of the efforts they have put to bring out the best-in-class cars and motorcycles. At the same time, I would also like to congratulate all contenders for having put in so much effort. It is in true sense a celebration of the Olympian spirit of participation that makes everyone a winner."

Find Car/Bike

Subscribe To Newsletter