2016 Volkswagen Vento Cup: 12 Rookies Finalised For This Season - Overdrive

2016 Volkswagen Vento Cup: 12 rookies finalised for this season

17 Mar 2016 / 0

The selection process for the 2016 edition of the Vento Cup concluded recently and 12 new drivers have been finalised. This year, Volkswagen Motorsport India received a total of 560 entries from around the country. The selection process lasted 45 days, by the end of which, 62 entries made it to the final round at the Indi Karting Track in Pune. This number was further reduced to 12 after the two-day selection process, which tested drivers on fitness, driving skill, learning ability and discipline. These 12 rookies will be joined on the grid by eight others who’ve driven in the previous Vento Cup and Polo Cup championships. All 20 drivers will now take part in a fitness camp and pre-season testing before Round 1 which is scheduled for June, 2016.

Volkswagen Vento Cup 2016 Driver Selection finals_2

At the end of 2015, MMSC won the bid to host the Vento Cup as a part of the FMSCI National Racing Championship from 2016-2018. The 2016 Vento Cup will consist of four rounds that will now be held across three racetracks – the Kari Motor Speedway, MMRT and BIC. The Vento Cup cars will now wear MRF racing slicks, new decals and will use a slightly reworked suspension system.

Vento Cup MRF  (2)

“Every year we receive a number of entries from aspiring racers showing their willingness to participate in the Vento Cup. It has been Volkswagen Motorsport India’s goal to develop and nurture young talent since its inception in 2009 and we are happy that we are able to coach so many drivers every year and provide them with a strong and robust platform like the Vento Cup,” said Sirish Vissa, head of Volkswagen Motorsport India.

“Interestingly 17 drivers are up to the age of 26 years, which is good because they are the young ones whom we really want to groom,” he added.

2016 Vento Cup finalists

1Aditya Mhatre22Mumbai
2Amit Mete27Aurangabad 
3Arfath Mohammed19Chennai
4Arunshowry Vallabhaneni21New Delhi
5Eswar Bolisetti20Visakhapatanam
6Gowdham Murugan26Coimbatore 
7Harjee Wadia17New Delhi
8Harshavardhan Saravanan19Chennai
9Hatim Shabbir20Chennai
10Ishaan Dodhiwala25Hyderabad
11Ishan Bhardwaj24New Delhi
12Keith Desouza22Goa
13Mohamed Jamil24Pudukkottai
14Nachappa Sivanesan29Chennai
15Neha Dabas25New Delhi
16Niranjan Todkari22Pune
17Pradeep Rao26Mumbai
18Rashad Khan19Pune
19Sailesh Bolisetti27Visakhapatanam
20Venkatraj Ellendula20Secunderabad

To stay at the cutting edge of automotive news in India, follow Overdrive on Twitter (@odmag) or on Facebook (facebook.com/odmag). Or download our app from the iOS or Android app stores today.

Find your next car
Shubhabrata Marmar
23 Jun 2017
Income lax department
Should someone earning a living from a vehicle get priority at...
Bob Rupani
15 Jun 2017
The lal batti and VIP culture
The government has banned the ‘lal batti’ or red beacon...