2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm: Suresh Rana Leads After Stage 1 - Overdrive

2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm: Suresh Rana leads after Stage 1

31 Jan 2017 / 0

The first leg of the 2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm concluded in Bikaner. Competitors had to cover a distance of around 250km, as they made their way from Hanumangarh to Bikaner, via Hardaswali and Arjansar.

Leg 1 of 2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm (2)

In the event’s extreme category it was Suresh Rana from Team Maruti who led the rally, finishing the first stage first, ably navigated by Ashwin Naik in their Grand Vitara. Ending the day second was Gaurav Chiripal (navigated by Srikanth Gowda), while third place at the end of the day went to Sanjay Agarwal, with navigator Shivaprakash.

Leg 1 of 2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm (3)


In the Moto category, it was India’s big Dakar hope, CS Santosh who made it to the end of the stage first astride his Hero MotoSports Team Rally 450. TVS Racing’s Tanveer Abdul Wahid completed the stage second, while R Nataraj, also from TVS Racing, ended the rally third.

Leg 1 of 2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm (5)

In today’s stage, the rally will move towards Jaisalmer, with a total distance of 500km being covered.


Results Extreme category after Stage 1:

Suresh Rana and Ashwin Naik – 1:11:42

Gaurav Chiripal and Srikanth Gowda – 1:11:45

Sanjay Agarwal and Shivaprakash – 1:15:38


Results Moto category after Stage 1:

CS. Santosh – 00:41:29

Tanveer Abdul Wahid – 00:41:48

R Nataraj – 00:44:35


To stay at the cutting edge of automotive news in India, follow Overdrive on Twitter (@odmag) or on Facebook (facebook.com/odmag). Or download our app from the iOS or Android app stores today.

Find your next car
Shubhabrata Marmar
23 Jun 2017
Income lax department
Should someone earning a living from a vehicle get priority at...
Bob Rupani
15 Jun 2017
The lal batti and VIP culture
The government has banned the β€˜lal batti’ or red beacon...